A Weekend in Nelson

Dear Readers,

I’m sorry it has been a while since my last entry!  The last two weeks have revolved around school here at the University of Canterbury, and I’ve been spending time trying to adjust to my new New Zealand life.  I’m starting to realize that many things here are similar to life back home – as far as the dominantly friendly culture and stunning natural beauty goes….but living on my own on the other side of the world is teaching me a lot about myself.   And while it can be challenging at times  (to be relatively alone, far from home) I am grateful for the opportunity to meet many new people and have unique experiences.

One of these experiences was an awesome adventure-filled weekend with an old friend from Pearson.  Aaron is originally from Nelson, New Zealand, and I mentioned him earlier when the two of us coincidentally booked the same flight from Vancouver to Auckland.  Two weeks ago, we met up in Christchurch and drove up the east coast of the South Island together.  It was a beautiful drive through rolling green hills and mountains dotted with literally thousands of sheep.   We stopped at some cozy cafes and scenic viewpoints.   Our short stay in Kaikoura was particularly memorable due to a unique habitat of ADORABLE baby seals. Hundreds of seal pups gathered in a waterfall just off the highway, it was such a cool place.  Here are some photos from our mini road trip:

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Another gorgeous place was a historic totara (I think that’s the kind of tree it was) forest where we stopped and walked for a bit:ImageImage

After a very pleasant 7 hours on the road we finally arrived at Aaron’s beautiful log cabin style home in sunny Nelson, New Zealand!! Nelson is at the top of the South Island and is renowned for its vineyards, incredible weather, and stunning natural beauty.  One of the Great Walks of New Zealand, the Abel Tasman Coastal Track, is situated right outside of Nelson.  My first night in Nelson was very kiwi-inspired since I watched my first rugby match and much to my surprise, it was actually quite captivating!

 The next day Aaron and I ventured into the Abel Tasman for a day hike and it was spectacular.  The golden beaches had the softest sand I have ever felt and the water was a brilliant cerulean blue…the forest was green and lush and the views were breathtaking.  It was like walking into a postcard.  It definitely didn’t feel like the middle of winter.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImage

 

The next day I attempted to drive a manual car, and due to the very high quality of instruction from Aaron, didn’t stall more than once! Which is not bad for a beginner, if I do say so myself.  Later we explored a beautiful stretch of land called Boulder Bank and built some rock towers on the beach, and the day ended with watching Despicable Me 2, which was very cute.

I am very very grateful to Aaron and his amazing family for being such lovely hosts!  I had so much fun during my visit and enjoyed every minute.  Plus, Aaron has the most friendly and adorable cat named Monty, and hanging out with him was simply the icing on the cake! 🙂

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment